Cabinet Secretary P K Sinha gets extension till 2019

Cabinet Secretary P K Sinha gets extension till 2019

The Narendra Modi government has given a one-year extension to top IAS officer Pradeep Kumar Sinha as the Cabinet Secretary. He will now be in the chair till June 12, 2019, around the time the country goes to polls.

Sinha will be serving four years as Cabinet Secretary by 2019, after his appointment in 2015. In doing so, the government has followed precedent as both predecessors of Sinha, Ajit Kumar Seth and K. M. Chandrasekhar had also served four-year terms in the same chair. Seth, who was appointed by the UPA government in 2011 continued in the post till 2015 after the Narendra Modi government came to power in 2014.

As per government rules, no government servant shall be granted extension in service beyond age of retirement of 60 years but as per rule FR 56, extension in public interest may be given “for a period not exceeding four years in the case of Cabinet Secretary”. Sinha, who was appointed in 2015 for two years, got his first extension of a year in 2017 and the second one has been given now. Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.