ISA Becomes Treaty-based International Intergovernmental Organization

ISA Becomes Treaty-based International Intergovernmental Organization

In terms of its Framework Agreement, with ratification by Guinea as the 15th country on 6 November 2017, the International Solar Alliance (ISA) will become a treaty-based international intergovernmental organization on 6 December 2017. The ISA, headquartered in India, has its Secretariat located in the campus of National Institute of Solar Energy, Gwalpahari, Gurgaon, Haryana.

The ISA is an Indian initiative, jointly launched by the Prime Minister of India and the President of France on 30 November 2015 in Paris, on the sidelines of COP-21, the UN Climate Conference. It aims at addressing obstacles to deployment at scale of solar energy through better harmonization and aggregation of demand from solar rich countries lying fully or partially between the Tropic of Cancer and Tropic of Capricorn.

As of date, 46 countries have signed and 19 countries have ratified the Framework Agreement of ISA. Read More…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.