Bridge Linkages Granted to 19 Thermal Power Plants : Piyush Goyal Informs RS

Bridge Linkages Granted to 19 Thermal Power Plants : Piyush Goyal Informs RS

Bridge linkages have been granted to 19 Thermal Power Plants, India’s Minister of State (IC) for Power, Coal & New and Renewable Energy Piyush Goyal told the Rajya Sabha on May 2.

The Minister stated that Ministry of Coal circulated Policy guidelines on 08.02.2016 for grant of ‘Bridge Linkage’ to specified end-use plants of Central and State Public Sector Undertakings (Both in Power as well as Non-Power sector) which have been allotted Schedule-III coal mines under the Coal Mines (Special Provisions) Act, 2015 (CM(SP) Act) and coal blocks allotted under the Mines and Minerals (Development and Regulation Act), 1957 (MMDR Act) for a period of 3 years from the date of allotment of coal mine/block.

The details are at given below:-


End Use Plants which have been granted Bridge Linkage

Configuration Name of the developer
1 Barethi-I, Madhya Pradesh 4×660 MW (St.I)  NTPC
2 Singareni Thermal Power Project, Telangana 2×600 MW (St.I) SCCL
3 Tanda–II, Uttar Pradesh 2×660 MW (St.II) NTPC
4 Kudgi–I, Karnataka 3×800 MW (St.I) NTPC
5 Lara STPP, Chhattisgarh 2×800 MW (St.I) NTPC
6 Darlipali-I, Odisha 2×800 MW NTPC
7 Barh-II, Bihar 2×660 MW (St.II) NTPC
8 PankiExtn TPP, Uttar Pradesh 1×660 MW  UPRVUNL
9 JawaharpurVidyutUtpadan Nigam Limited, Uttar Pradesh 2×660 MW  UPRVUNL
10 HarduaganjExtn. TPP, Uttar Pradesh 1×660 MW  UPRVUNL
11 OPGCL Expansion  Power Project (Unit 3,4,5 & 6), Odisha 2×660 MW (Unit 3 &4) OPGCL
12 Bilhaur TPS,Uttar Pradesh 2×660 MW NTPC
13 Bellary TPP (Unit -3), Karnataka 1×700 MW (Unit III) KPCL
14 Yermarus  TPP (Unit -1& 2), Karnataka 2×800 MW (Unit I & II) KPCL
15 Marwa TPP, Chhattisgarh 2×500 MW CSPGCL
16 Kakatiya Thermal Power Project Stage-II, Telangana 1X600  MW (St.II) TSPGCL
17 Koradi Thermal Power Station (Unit 8, Unit 9 & Unit 10),   Maharashtra 3×660 (U-8,9,10) Mahagenco
18 Chandrapur Thermal Power Station (Unit 8 & Unit 9), Maharashtra 2×500 MW (U-8&9) Mahagenco


19 Parli Thermal Power Station TPP Unit 8, Maharashtra 1×250 MW (U-8) Mahagenco


The Minister further stated that there is a Standing Linkage Committee (Long Term) [SLC(LT)], with representatives of  Ministries of Coal, Power, Railways, Steel, Shipping, Department  of Industrial Policy & Promotion, NITI Aayog,Coal India Limited(CIL),  Singareni Collieries Company Limited (SCCL), Central Mine Planning and Design Institute Limited, Ranchi (CMPDIL), Central Electricity Authority (CEA) and National Thermal Power Corporation(NTPC) as its members and Additional Secretary(Coal) as its Chair.

The Committee recommends the proposals for grant of  the long term linkage and bridge linkage of coal  and other related matters to competent authority for approval. However, no new long term linkage has been granted to any power plant during the last three years, the Minister added.