Is Bullet Train Coming To Your City? Read This To Find Out

Is Bullet Train Coming To Your City? Read This To Find Out

The government’s pet project of bullet trains is gaining momentum. The High Speed Rail Corporation (HSRC), which has been conducting feasibility studies for several bullet train projects, has submitted a final feasibility report for Delhi-Amritsar project and draft report for Delhi-Kolkata corridor to the Railways ministry.

“We have proposed to start construction of Delhi-Kolkata corridor by 2021. The other projects are also on long routes. It will take 15 to 20 years to complete the corridors once the construction starts,” said MP Singh, CEO of HRSC.

HSRC is working with various consultants from different countries. It is likely to submit all the feasibility reports to the ministry by year-end. Indian Railways has already formed a company, National High Speed Rail Corporation, for Mumbai-Ahmedabad bullet train project

Below is the list of high-speed corridors. Check if your station falls in any of these:

Delhi-Kolkata : The 1,474 km corridor will have 11 stations: Greater Noida, Aligarh, Lucknow, Sultanpur, Jaunpur, Varanasi, Buxar, Patna, Dhanbad, Asansol, and Burdwan. The distance will be covered in 5.54 hours. HSRC has submitted a draft final report to the ministry. It will submit the final report by October this year after incorporating ministry’s suggestions. The work is likely to start by 2021.

Delhi-Mumbai : This is an extension of Mumbai-Ahmedabad corridor. The stations falling between Delhi and Mumbai are: Gurgaon, Jaipur, Udaipur, Baroda and Surat.

Mumbai-Chennai : This project will have a cord connecting it to Goa. Pune, Bengaluru and Tirupati will be the stations on the route.

Mumbai-Nagpur : The final report for this project is expected by October. There are four stations on this route: Nasik, Aurangabad, Akola and Amrawati.

READ  Tamil Nadu To Seek Centre Help For Relaunching Ferry Service Between Rameswaram, Sri Lanka

Delhi-Amritsar : This will have three stations: Chandigarh, Panipat and Ambala. The train will cover 458 km in 2:30 hours, around four hours less than the current time taken by express trains.

Source Link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.